Day 23: Why is Middle America, Real America?

Sometimes decisions are made and you don’t know why but you’re just supposed to accept them. You just go with it and then the next thing you know, you’re saying, “Wait, when did videos on Facebook just automatically start playing even if I didn’t want to watch them?”

Seriously if another damn Rick Lax video shows up on my feed… I’m not exactly sure what I can do. Except for maybe get new friends. But still… I don’t want to watch your stupid magic videos or those super fast time lapse cooking videos or another mannequin challenge video, yet Facebook shows them to me anyways without me clicking on anything.

I don’t like it. But it happened. Because too many of us who don’t like it didn’t say, “Hey Facebook, not cool!” And, yet, here we are living in a world of shitty card trick videos invading our newsfeeds.

We also live in a world where somehow Middle America became known as “Real America.” And everyone is cool with that, I guess. I don’t know when it happened or why it happened, but it happened.

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

