Day 40: Losing is the Worst. But Hopelessness is Even Worse.

I’m a Minnesota Vikings fan. I wasn’t born a Vikings fan. I chose them at age seven. After six long years of disappointment as a young Jets fan, I decided enough was enough. And I jumped ship, becoming a Vikings fan simply because they were on TV and purple and yellow is pretty badass. Right? It is.

The game that I decided to begin rooting for the Vikings was the 1987–88 NFC Championship Game. They lost. In painful fashion too. Running back Darrin Nelson dropped a pass in the endzone that would have tied the game and sent it to overtime.

And so it began. My first game rooting my new favorite team ended in heartbreak. Seven year-old me could have and probably SHOULD have said, “I’m out” and started rooting for another team. But no. I stuck with the Vikings. And, well it never got any better from there.

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

